• August 8, 2022

This post introduces ten different traditional interior design styles from India. These styles are very popular in India, and they’re perfect for creating an authentic look for your home.

India is a country with a rich history and a culture that is deeply rooted in the traditions of the past. For many centuries, the people of India have been fascinated by the beauty of nature, and they have used it as a source of inspiration. The rich history and culture of India have resulted in the development of many different traditional interior design styles, which have been adapted to suit the needs and preferences of the local population.

There are many different types of traditional interior design styles that you can choose from to create a unique look for your home. Let’s take a quick tour of the different styles and see what makes each one so special.

  1. Indian Tribal Style

Tribal interior design styles are a popular choice in India. They are often painted with bright colors, and they have a lot of natural elements such as wood, stones, and plants. This kind of design is usually found in the northern parts of India.

  1. Rajasthani Style

Rajasthani interior design style has a lot of decorative patterns and details. It is commonly found in the western part of India.

  1. Mughal Style

This interior design style is very famous throughout India. It’s considered to be one of the best traditional styles. The Mughal style features a lot of rich colors, and the walls and the floors are made of wood, stone, and plaster. The furniture and the decorations in the rooms are also made with those materials.

  1. Bengali Style

Bengali interior design style is a mixture of traditional Indian styles and Western influences. It is mainly found in Bengal, which is the eastern part of India.

  1. Kerala Style

Kerala style is a mix of traditional and modern designs. It is mostly found in Kerala, the southernmost state of India.

  1. The Rajput Style

The Rajput style is another great interior design style in India. The Rajput style features many colors and motifs. The rooms are decorated with wooden floors and walls. The decorations and the furnishings are also made with wood and stone. The walls are covered with rugs and the furniture is made of leather and metal.

  1. The Indo-Saracenic Style

The Indo-Saracenic style is a combination of the Mughal and Rajput interior design styles. The rooms in the Indo-Saracenic style are decorated with marble floors, wooden doors and ceilings, and wooden walls. The furniture is made of wood, brass, and glass. The decorations are also made with marble and wood.

  1. Gujarati Style

People who live in the state of Gujarat prefer decorating their homes with furniture that has an antique look. They also prefer to use traditional colors like orange, yellow, and white. The Gujarati style is very similar to the Kota style. However, the differences between these two styles are that people use antique and traditional furniture in the Gujarati style, and they prefer to use traditional colors.

  1. Marwari Style

The ninth style is the Marwari interior design style. Marwari style is very popular in the central and eastern parts of India. The main characteristic of this style is that it is a combination of the traditional Indian style with the Persian style. The Persian style is represented by the carpets and the wall art. The Persian culture is also represented by furniture.

  1. The Maharaja Style

The maharaja style is very similar to the Rajasthani interior design style, except that the maharaja style is more ornate and detailed. The main colors used in the maharaja style are red and yellow. Red is used to add warmth and warmth to any space. Yellow is used to highlight the contrast between light and dark.

The Bottom Line:

These Indian traditional interior design styles are popular throughout the year, but during certain festivals, they come alive with colors and decorations. For example, during Diwali, the festival of lights, people decorate their homes with vibrant colors, and they celebrate it with their family members. These traditional interior design styles are also called Indian regional styles. You can apply any of these five styles to your home. They are suitable for the modern living style. All the styles will make your home more attractive.